A Working Mother’s Guide …?

This is a lesson rant on leaving your child at the babysitter after two weeks of a crazy, effed up work schedule.

Answer = You don’t. You don’t do it successfully, anyhow. You also don’t get your toddler an iPad, but I’ll save that post for another day.

This morning was an example of one of those mornings you just wish you could stay in bed. I woke up late – ran around getting ready, making breakfast, making sure Mr. L brushes his teeth, goes potty, puts his underwear and pants on (the boy likes to be naked), warming up the car and finishing up packing the diaper bag. Of course by the time we get to the garage, Mr. L knows where he’s going and here comes the tantrum. He doesn’t want to go to the babysitter.

Let me just say that we have a great sitter – and he loves her and their family, but after all this time with mama he just doesn’t want to go.

By the time we get there he has stopped crying – I now have a headache from all the screaming – but as soon as we pull in the driveway he starts screaming about he doesn’t want to go, he “just wants to go home!” 2 years old and so. much. drama. He pretty much makes me drag him out of his Britax Marathon. Poor kid. He just wants to stay home with his mom!

I take him inside and wait a few minutes to allow him to “warm up” to the idea of staying there. I read somewhere that you are just supposed to drop them off and walk away, but I’m not so good at that. It wasn’t too terrible, but I heard him yelling for hugs as I closed the door behind me. It makes me feel like complete shit. If I had only made better decisions – like getting married – before having him, maybe I’d have the possibility of staying at home with him. Not that I want to most days – haha – but some days, it’d be nice to be that mom that gets to raise her kids, do crafts and have adventures, meal plan, have play dates, be organized. I don’t think I’ll ever be “that mom.”

So – if you are “that mom,” today I congratulate you. You are lucky and today I envy you.
Now go do something with your kids! 🙂

Now, if you’ll excuse me – I’m blogging while on my lunch hour.
xo, Jess.

{moment of honesty} most days I am happy to go to work – because sometimes it’s the break I need before I rip my hair out. Mamahood ain’t always fun and easy.

Tagged ,

One thought on “A Working Mother’s Guide …?

  1. Shery Adkins says:

    Just remember that you can only be the best Mom you can be and you are a great Mom and Luke probably stopped crying and went about his day within a minute of you leaving!

Leave a Reply

